top of page


The Divisional Education Council is comprised of one elected/appointed representative from each of the five community-based District Education Authorities (DEAs). The Council's primary responsibility is to provide for the educational needs of the students of the South Slave region. This involves establishing policy, determining the allocation of financial resources, monitoring, evaluating, and reporting results to its stakeholders.


Fort Resolution                        Bess-Ann McKay, Chair

Hay River                                   Pennie Pokiak, Vice Chair

Fort Smith                                 Crystal McKinnon

Kátł’odeeche First Nation       Crystal Sabourin

Łutsel K'e                                   Iris Catholique

To contact your local District Education Authority representative, please click here.

South Slave Divisional Education Council
bottom of page